Jasper The Vinyl Junkie presents: Vinyl Junkie Thangs

Nr: BBE4992021

Select items


Over 2 decades since his last compilation on BBE Music, Jasper The Vinyl Junkie returns to the label with ‘Vinyl Junkie Thangs’ a bumper collection of effortlessly cool, eclectic grooves for heads and feet.

Vinyl collector, DJ and music writer, Jasper The Vinyl Junkie has been with BBE since the very beginning, curating our second ever label release, 1997’s ‘Stop & Listen Vol. II’. It seems only right for him to rejoin us in our 25th year with another stash of funk-filled, jazzy cuts and edits, many of which are almost impossibly hard to find.

“Even all the digital interference hasn’t stopped vinyl being a fantastic way to get your groove on. When I put together compilations like this back in the day, there were just 3 formats: Vinyl, CDs and Cassette Tapes. Now there’s a whole heap of ways to get your favourite tunes: downloads, streaming, youtube etc. etc… Even so, when I put an album together, I always do it with the analogue in mind, so it has a certain feel to it.” – Jasper The Vinyl Junkie.

Featuring sounds from all-time music heroes like Fred Wesley, The Fatback Band and DTrain’s Hubert Eaves alongside lesser known artists like Exile One, Ashantis and Funkshone, Jasper takes ‘Vinyl Junkie Thangs’ above and beyond the norm for this type of collection by also including a smattering of contemporary edits, remixes and new creations. Material by the likes of Basement Freaks, OPOLOPO, Jkriv & Free Magic and Mr Scruff, much of which has never been available on vinyl before, blends in perfectly with the classic material, giving this album extra depth and fresh dimensions.

Vinyl tracklist
Disc 1
A1 – Black Hole – Stato Brado
A2 – Nobody Else But You (OPOLOPO Remix) – Steve Arrington
A3 – Berlin I (Hot Pants Road) – Tihomir Pop Asanović
B1 – JB’s Latin – Spitting Image
B2 – Safari – Ashantis
B3 – Funky Crookie – Exile One feat. Gordon Henderson
B4 – Makes Me Wanna Scream (Blend Mishkin Remix) – Basement Freaks
Disc 2
C1 – Cruisen – Thomas Siffling
C2 – Spiritual Interlude II (The Heist) – Funkshone
C3 – Flotational Device – E. Live
D1 – Emmanuel – Jkriv & Free Magic
D2 – Let The Drums Speak (Harvey Lindo Edit) – Bah Samba feat. The Fatback Band
Disc 3
E1 – Stay Cool – Jaki Whitren & John Cartwright
E2 – Painfull Pleasure – Hubert Eaves III
F1 – Electro Boogie (On The Rhodes Mix) – JD73
F2 – Trippin’ High – Eric Legnini Trio
Disc 4 (7″)
G1 – Stockport Carnival (7″ Edit) – Mr Scruff
H1 – Sonór Tropicàl (7″ Edit) – Mankoora

Format: 3LP+7″, CD, digital
Release date: 11/06/2021

Choose from a list of stores and music services.

You might also like