Kev Beadle presents Private Collection Vol. 3

Nr: BBE3242017

Select items


More Independent Jazz Sounds From The 70s & 80s

Beloved DJ, compiler and incurable vinyl junkie, Kev Beadle returns to BBE with a 3rd volume of his much lauded ‘Private Collection’ album series. Taking in a wide range of obscure jazz with a distinct nod to the dance-floor, the first two ‘Private Collections’ are already considered classics by the jazz-dance community. Once again presenting a wealth of ultra-rare sounds previously only available to record collectors with very deep pockets, Vol.3 sees Kev inviting us to travel even deeper into the vinyl vaults.

Quite a lot has happened in the 3 years since ‘Private Collection Vol.2’ was released, not least Kev’s announcement last year that he was hanging up his headphones. We hope, selfishly, that his retirement won’t last, but either way, the news has given this compilation some added significance for us. A founder of London’s legendary Dingwalls and former Wag club resident, Kev has been at the very centre of the UK’s jazz-dance scene for decades, locked in (friendly) competition with the likes of Gilles Peterson, Patrick Forge, Bob Jones and many others on a never-ending quest for that perfect track.

As you might expect, ‘Private Collection Vol.3’ contains its fair share of frenetic, syncopated musical workouts to test the stamina of even the most dedicated dancers, but the album also provides some moments of calm, some smooth Latin grooves like Louis Hayes version of the Freddie Hubbard classic ‘Little Sunflower’ as well as very rare, sought after recordings by Belair, Lee Willhite and the Webster Lewis that have changed hands for big money in recent times.

Whether you are a record collector or a jazz club regular, this compilation represents a chance to finally own more than a few ‘holy grail’ tunes without breaking the bank and a chance to relive those special moments on the dance-floor. For the rest of us, this is simply a glorious concoction of 70s and 80s jazz, rescued from relative obscurity, painstakingly assembled and presented with a great deal of love.

CD Tracklist:

1 Roy Haynes – Quiet Fire
2 John Thomas & Lifeforce – Maryke
3 Banda Metalurgia – Lá Em Guayaquil
4 Belair – Samba For A Cold Warrior
5 Francisco Mora Catlett – Samba De Amor
6 Louis Hayes Group ft Leon Thomas – Little Sunflower
7 Lee Willhite – The World Is A Ghetto
8 Clarice Labbe & Charlie Hampton – No Other Love But You
9 Ronald Snijders – Latinetta
10 Finn Savery Trio – Misturada
11 Ira Sullivan – The Kingdom Within You
12 Webster Lewis – Do You Believe (Alternative version)

Vinyl & digital bonus tracks:
– Don Rader – Don’t Touch
– John Lee & Gerry Brown – Infinite Jones

You might also like