One Try


Select items


‘One Try’ is the second remix EP from BBC New Music Award winning jazz / soul / electronica ensemble Maylight’s debut album ‘Almighty’ (released 25th March 2016 on BBE Records).

The eight strong collective takes in the vocal talents of ex-Tru Thoughts vocalist Lizzy Parks, pianist Rob Barron whose resume includes session work for the likes of Jay Z, Kanye West and Jay Electronica and BBC Performing Arts Prize winning saxophonist Mary Wakelam. On trumpet are Aida Severo’s Joe Egan and Percy Pursglove, a first class graduate of Birmingham Conservatoire’s jazz course who has played for groups including The Duke Ellington Orchestra and The Coltrane Ensemble. Trio Tekke’s Colin Somervell appears on bass. Dave Holland Award winning drummer Jim Bashford, (currently playing for multi-platinum selling jazz vocalist Katie Melua) also appears.

The group is produced by BBE signing Chris Read whose work includes productions and remixes for the likes of Grammy Award winning vocalists Algebra Blessett and Bilal, hip hop man of the moment Oddisee, Tokyo Dawn-signing Pugs Atomz and the Pharcyde.

Remixes on this bumper 9 track EP come courtesy of an array of international production talent: Oak Welsh of The Hics, a band recently championed by Gilles Peterson, draws on folk and electronica influences for his rework. Chris Read delivers a trio of versions which include a broken beat revival number, the electronic soul stylings of the album version and a single edit which features guest vocals from Chicago’s Pugs Atomz. A pair of house reworks come courtesy of Kid Suda from Barcelona’s Raw Format collective and Boean’s Real whose productions have found favour with internet tastemakers Eton Messy and Subsoul among others. A remix from Brazilian Drum & Bass duo and recent Tru-Thoughts signings Drumagick takes the track yet further uptempo and completes this international package.

The album version of ‘One Try’ recently featured in a short video for Samsung’s ‘Over to You’ campaign.

You might also like