DJ Marky: Influences Vol. 2

Nr: BBE3612017

Select items


Globally renowned for his vibrant, melodic sets and productions, Brazil’s DJ Marky has been playing records for over a quarter of a century, making his debut at the tender age of twelve (yes, really). In the late 90’s, Marky’s fresh energy and eclectic influences provided a much-needed tonic for the UK’s Drum & Bass scene; his sun-drenched crossover anthem ‘LK’ eventually entering the UK Top 20 in 2002. The intervening years have been spent spinning records all over the world to rapt audiences, as well as absorbing more and more wide-ranging global sounds to add to his distinctive style. Marky’s long awaited debut album finally dropped in 2015, aptly titled ‘My Heroes’, reflecting this uncommonly humble artist’s habit of constantly championing his favourite musicians and musical inspirations.

With this unselfish spirit firmly in mind, we are proud to announce the release of ‘Influences Vol. 2’, a compilation album and DJ mix showcasing a selection of Marky’s favourite music, created with a healthy disdain for genre-puritans and an emphasis on fun. Taking in traditional Brazilian music, disco, acid jazz, early house and of course a little Drum & Bass, ‘Influences’ is more of an invitation to a barbecue in the São Paulo sunshine than a chin-stroking ‘back to mine’ selection.

Few artists display the ability (or the will) to transcend the genre in which they most thrive, but Marky is quickly establishing himself as a powerful tastemaker, perhaps even South America’s answer to Gilles Peterson or Laurent Garnier. Fans will revel in the acid house and latin rhythms which provide much of the DNA of his Drum N Bass stylings, while casual listeners will simply discover a seamless music journey through a breathtaking number of eras and styles. A music-lover and fan first and foremost, Marky’s infectious enthusiasm for his craft has never been more evident than on this very special record.

Vinyl track listing:

Side A
1- Clyde Alexander & Sanction – Got To Get Your Love
2- Esther Williams – Last Night Change It All (I Really Had A Ball)

Side B
1- The Pasito All Stars – Cosa Nostra
2- Manfredo Fest – Jungle Kitten
3- The Manuel Azevedo Quartet – Futebol De Bar

Side C
1- Influx Datum – Meant Love
2- The Brand New Heavies – Dream Come True (Joey Negro Reality Mix)

Side D
1- Maurice – This Is Acid (K & T Dance Mix)
2- Origin Unknown – Truly One Remix Pt 1

You might also like