Colour and Pitch V1

Nr: BBE5032018

Select items


Steadily bubbling up through the electronic music scene for 5 years now, BBE Music is pleased to present the debut compilation from underground deep house imprint Colour and Pitch.

Founded in 2013 by Mega Jawns producer and musician Will Sumsuch, Colour and Pitch is a boutique independent label, priding itself on releasing ‘handcrafted electronic music from the heart’. ‘Colour and Pitch V1’ gives a broad taste of the imprint’s idiosyncratic, melodic sound, presented with a continuous DJ mix by Sumsuch himself.

Finest Wear’s unsigned music was one of the main reasons Sumsuch took the decision to start the label, so it only seemed fitting to open this compilation with his track ‘The Light’. Since releasing his first few EPs with C&P, Finest Wear has signed music with Nite Grooves and Large Music, fulfilling Will’s original hope for Colour and Pitch and its artists to grow together symbiotically. San Francisco dance music legend Gavin Hardkiss provides lead vocals for ‘Standstill’, a languid sun-drenched gem composed by Sumsuch. New York producer Eric Shans and vocalist Stephanie Lobardo turn in some epic, prog-infused dreamy house music in the form of ‘Feel Alive’.

Previously releasing on DiY Discs as one half of Alpha Dogs & Tonal Fusion, Tim Tonal delivers a poised and highly evolved slice of acid house entitled ‘Rhythmic Indulgence’. Composed in between their two BBE albums, Mega Jawns duo Will Brock & Sumsuch recorded ‘All Along’ – a smooth and soulful deep house cut that became a surprise hit in South Africa. Represented here by a timely slow-mo cut ‘Bread And Circus (Blind Nation)’ featuring Chicago poet Keter Darker, Canadian producer Andrew Duke displays the musical chops that have kept his weekly mix-show on air since 1987.

Barcelona-based, synth obsessed producer Aiby offers up the deeply personal, intimate deep analogue cut ‘Can’t Make You Happy’. Former Alice Russell band member Matty Eeles provides stunning, jazzy vocals for the warm and comforting Sumsuch track ‘Find Home’. Sonic adventurer Q-Burns Abstract Message dreams up a genre-defying, ethereal version of Sumsuch and Will Brock’s ‘Shine’. Classical, cinematic interlude ‘Slipping Under’ gives way to final track ‘All The Love In The World’ by former Sub Club resident Mark Ryal, closing out the album with a warm, orchestral flourish.

Release Date: November 23rd 2018.

1. Finest Wear – The Light
2. Sumsuch feat. Gavin Hardkiss – Standstill
3. Eric Shans feat. Stephanie Lombardo – Feel Alive
4. Tim Tonal – Rhythmic Indulgence (Tonal’s Dark Peak Version)
5. Sumsuch feat. Will Brock – All Along
6. Andrew Duke feat. Keter Darker – Bread and Circus (Blind Nation)
7. Aiby – Can’t Make You Happy
8. Sumsuch feat. Matty Eeles – Find Home
9. Sumsuch feat. Will Brock – Shine (Q Burns Abstract Message Remix)
10. Sumsuch – Slipping Under
11. Mark Ryal – All The Love In The World
12. Sumsuch Sumsuch presents Colour and Pitch V1 Continuous DJ Mix

Click here to choose your favourite store or streaming service.

You might also like