Sean Khan

Sean Khan is a London born jazz saxophonist. Sean’s recording career began in the early 2000’s as leader of cult Broken Beat group the SKradicals. With this group he was the first album signing to Goya music (People records) and with them he released the world’s first Broken Beat album ‘When will we belong’, on this record there is a who’s who of the Broken scene with major contributions from Bugz in Attic’s Daz-I-Kue and Kaidi Tathum. Over the course of the next years Sean has worked/recorded/been involved with remixes etc with a host of underground stalwarts these include Bugz in the Attic, Recloose, Mark de Clive Lowe and many others. During this period Sean and the SKradicals headlined The Jazz Cafe, Ronnie Scott’s and also played festivals in Europe.

From 2009 Sean signed to FarOut recordings to release his first jazz record, Slow Burner, this record saw Sean return to his early jazz roots and was his first record not to involve beat making and was completely acoustic. His next record, Muriel, saw Sean work with the likes of Omar, Nicola Conte, Sabrina Malheiros and 4Hero and was a more expansive Jazz styled record than his previous effort. With this record Sean headlined Ronnies Scotts and the Jazz Cafe. Muriel garnered a 4 star review in the Evening standard and received critical acclaim from the BBC. Sean’s last record to date, Palmares Fantasy, was recorded in Brazil with the great Hermeto Pascoal (Miles Davis, Airto, Herbie Hancock and many others). This record saw Sean reunite with Sabrina Malheiros and also included Ivan ‘Mamao’ Conti (Azymuth’s) on drums. With this record Sean received play listing from Jazz FM and also wide play on BBC and Worldwide FM. Palmares Fantasy received a 4 star review from both the Evening Standard and the American magazine Down Beat.

As well as being considered a pioneer of Broken Beat he has also played and worked with a wide variety of musicians and artists over the years these include Marcos Valle, Lisa Stansfield, Alex Malheiros (Azymuth), Jocelyn Brown, Clifford Jarvis (Sun Ra, Alice Coltrane), Bheki  Mseleku, Nicola Conte, Peter King, Jim Mullen (Average White Band) and many others. 

You might also like