• The Beat Generation 10th Anniversary Collection compiled & mixed by DJ Spinna and Mr Thing


    Please choose your file format.

    2xCD £11 MP3 Download £9.00 WAV Download £10.00

    Over the course of nine albums in the 2000s for their producer-led Beat Generation series, BBE adopted an unusual stance. “Do what you want,” their artists were told for probably the first time in their careers. The label’s enormously liberal approach was the antithesis of stiff major record label A&R practices, their forward thinking rewarded handsomely by a truly diverse set of albums from some of the world’s most capable hip-hop architects. Among those picked to contribute were Golden Era greats (Marley Marl; Jazzy Jeff); acclaimed DJ/producers whose work habitually blurred genre lines (King Britt; DJ Spinna; Madlib); and those whose regular gigs didn’t afford them the creative freedom they craved (Will.i.am).

    No-one made better use of the brief than Jay Dee, whose inspired Welcome 2 Detroit showed that despite all the techno and soul that seeped into and out of the Motor City there was still room to be influenced by the Carpenters and Sergio Mendes. Pete Rock, the hip-hop producer’s producer, filled his rapturously received PeteStrumentals disc with classic sample-led tracks packed with drama and finesse. DJ Jazzy Jeff’s The Magnificent celebrated the slew of Philly talent at his A Touch Of Jazz studios, Jill Scott guesting on an exalted Roy Ayers cover in finale. Then there was veteran cellist and arranger Larry Gold, on hiatus from adding strings to hits like Brandy and Monica’s ‘The Boy Is Mine’, who called upon fellow seasoned pros McFadden and Whitehead and Bunny Sigler for his piece of the puzzle.

    Press play and give it up for the Beat Generation.

    This fine anniversary collection was compiled and mixed by DJ Spinna & Mr Thing and the digital version comes with a fantastic bonus mix by UK Mixtape Maestro Chris Read – (Music of Substance / BBC 1 Xtra).

    Vinyl tracklisting: A1. Jay Dee - Beej-N-Dem Pt. 2 (featuring Beej) A2. Pete Rock - Give It To Y'all (featuring Roc Marciano & Trife) A3. Marley Marl- What Ruling Means (featuring Kevin Brown & Grap Luva)

    B1. Dj Jazzy Jeff - Are U Ready? (featuring Slum Village) B2. Madlib The Beat Konducta - Blow The Horns On 'Em (featuring Guilty Simpson) B3. Pete Rock - To My Advantage (featuring Nature)

    C1. King Britt - Superstar (featuring Ivana Santilli) C2. will.i.am - Lay Me Down (featuring Terry Dexter) C3. DJ Spinna - Surely

    D1. Larry Gold - Loving You (featuring Carol Riddick) D2. Dj Jazzy Jeff - We Live In Philly (featuring Jill Scott) D3. DJ Spinna - Rock (Unplugged)

People also bought...

  • Keb Darge & Little Edith
    Keb Darge & Little Edith's Legendary Wild Rockers 2>
  • Various
    Seven Heven compiled by Mark Webster>
  • Bilal
    A Love Surreal>
  • Johnny D
    Henry Street Grooves - Classic Deep, Funky and Jazzy House from New York>
  • Robert Strauss
    Feeling Fantasy EP>